Opportunity Hidden in the Mist of Adversity


Disappointment is hard to swallow. Anyone who has ever studied hard for a test and failed, given their best to a proposal only to be rejected, or simply fallen short of a goal has felt the sour ache that comes afterward. How you come to terms with that disappointment, however, is the difference between overcoming it and letting it defeat you.

When I last posted in this blog (way too long ago), I was heralding my triumph in securing a position with a boutique public relations agency. Unfortunately, in the months between these posts, it became clear I wasn’t where I was supposed to be. Therefore, I am back on the job hunt again, swallowing disappointment, but with my back straight and my head held high.

Those who know me know the details of why I am no longer working there, but to sum it all up: a start-up satellite office of a boutique agency with limited staff capabilities was not the training ground I had hoped. Nor was the very specific clientele portfolio beneficial for someone looking for general communications experience. When it comes right down to it, what I was looking for and what the company was looking for didn’t line up.

My time there ended with good feelings all around (and a letter of recommendation), so all in all I see this as a great opportunity. I gained experience in a PR agency. I learned skills applicable to other firms and paths of life. A valuable lesson presented itself to me as well: Just because an opportunity looks perfect does not mean that it’s perfect for you. Yes, it’s disappointing to be starting over, but between starting over with a fresh mind and skill set or being stuck where I won’t grow professionally, I’ll gladly take starting over.

My family and friends (even ex-coworkers) have been so helpful during the last couple weeks, all I can feel right now is gratefulness and excitement to be moving into the prologue of the next chapter of my life.

Hope you’ve all been well, and glad to be writing again,

John Kenneth McEwen

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Opportunity Hidden in the Mist of Adversity”
  1. Karen says:

    Yeah, yeah, yeah – so great to see you writing again! You do it so well, really able to describe the feelings we have all had at one time or another; you are a gifted writer. Glad to be able to “hear” you again!

  2. Bob says:

    Beautifully written, Ken. Keep ’em coming …

  3. Char says:

    Nice, Ken. Very introspective. So when are you and Katie going to combine gifts and write and illustrate a book????? Love ya char

See anything thought provoking? Comment and spill!

